Saturday, December 13, 2008

Donna Lewis- In The Pink

After a long hiatus during which she raised a family, multi-platinum recording artist Donna Lewis will finally return with her first proper studio album in a decade with the release of In The Pink on April 8, 2008.

Featuring the first single "Shout," Donna's eleven new tracks seem to pick up right where she left off. Her overly acute sense of pop sensibility remains firmly intact while simultaneously gravitating towards the newer sounds of bands such as Zero 7 and Hooverphonic.

“I didn't plan on being away for this long,” Lewis commented. “After Blue Planet, I had the opportunity to work on some great collaborative projects which I found really interesting and enjoyable. Then I did something I had always wanted to do, record an acoustic album, Be Still which I just put out on my website. I had a baby in 2003 and decided to take a complete break to be a hands on mum - I wouldn't change anything about that time, it has been incredible sharing his first few years....”

At the end of 1993 she came to the attention of Atlantic Records and so impressed Chairman Doug Morris that he flew her out to New York from her native Cardiff, Wales to meet her personally-and offered her a recording deal on the spot!

Her debut album for Atlantic, Now in a Minute, was released in 1996. The first single "I Love You Always Forever" became an instant global phenomenon, climbing to the top of the charts all over the world. In the U.S. it re-wrote the record books at radio by exceeding 1 million spins to claim its place in music industry history as the most-played song ever at that time.
Lewis' follow-up album Blue Planet followed in 1998 and confirmed the arrival of a genuine new talent. It featured two more hit singles: "I Could Be the One," and "Love Him," which went to the top of the Billboard Dance Charts in America. Lewis left Atlantic Records after the conclusion of Blue Planet and immediately focused on some interesting collaborative projects.

She was asked by Trevor Horn, with whom she had previously worked with on the very successful track 'At the Beginning' for the Anastasia movie, to sing on "I Dream in Color" for Horn's Art of Noise project.

Lewis also worked with David Torn (aka Splattercel), renowned guitarist and film composer, his recent work includes writing the original music for Lars and the Real Girl.
The demos from the collaborative project, called Chute, were first played in July and August 2001 and were among the top five most requested songs for three consecutive weeks on KCRW in Los Angeles.
”Having a break from my own writing and recording and working on these interesting projects, took me down new and different avenues and allowed me to approach ‘In the Pink’ refreshed and with a new perspective.”

In the Pink is released through Redeye Distribution on Donna’s Peruzzi Music label.

Track Listing – In The Pink
1. Ireland
2. Pink Dress
3. Shout
4. Shut The Sun Out
5. Kick Inside
6. You To Me
7. Obsession
8. Don’t Ever
9. 1000 Miles
10. You (Reprise)

Donna ## MySpace ## CD's ## MP3's ## Hype Machine## YouTube

No comments: